02
May
09

might as well face it…

I'm more of a metaller really
I’m addicted to mods…

No, no, not that kind – WAR mods – I’ve gone and written another one.

Roleplay Filter

This is a remake of the daoc command /rpfilter – which lets you translate the gibberings of the average loltxtm8spkr into something legibile:

e.g. turn “lol” into “most amusing”

Much room for other comedy such as turning “heal pls” into “Don’t heal me ever I’m an idiot” or “Flim” into “That gimp” (back in daoc for some odd reason I always turned “imo” into “forsooth” – easily amused I guess)

This was inspired by the sad fate of the roleplay servers – all three RP servers in europe seem to be somewhat in decline – and from the polls on the official servers it seems like the german/french roleplayers would rather roleplay on an own-language core server than on an english language RP server (even the Burlok poll seemed to show a preference for transferring to other english core servers than to make one big RP server, though it was a close run thing)

It remains to be seen what GOA do about all this but in the mean time (and indeed for the past few months) people have been rerolling on Core servers already and egomaniac that I am I thought I could maybe help them with a little /rpfiltering ๐Ÿ™‚

All of 12 downloads so far so it’s hardly set the world alight, but we’ll see.


6 Responses to “might as well face it…”


  1. May 4, 2009 at 07:50

    Roo,

    If you are not careful, you will need a patching day for the addons, post Mythic patch days. Addon addication is something that should be treated with respect.

  2. 2 Roo Stercogburn
    May 4, 2009 at 09:21

    Hehe, Flimgoblin is the glorious mod writer. I’m just the writer of nonsense.

    There’s about 3 of us share this blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    We need more nonsense posted from Dormir!

  3. May 4, 2009 at 12:58

    It’s OK skarbd – I find it quite confusing too, I login of a Saturday afternoon and think “man, I musta been drinking heavily last night – I’ve posted all this stuff about my Magus – I don’t even have a magus”.

  4. May 4, 2009 at 16:28

    Sorry Film, I forget sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. July 16, 2014 at 14:41

    Woah this site is fantastic i love studying your site content. Remain within the good works of art! You already know, lots of people are shopping for this information, you may support all of them significantly.


Leave a comment


May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031