23
Jul
09

I’m a bad goblin…

I have a manticore. It’s nice. It flaps its wings when I fall to my death (doesn’t actually save me from any damage but it looks cool) and it runs ever so slightly faster than the other mounts (which is great for running away!).

As well as these fringe benefits it also lets me infuriate the high level guild members who like to strut around in IC showing off their armoured mounts (by strutting around in IC showing off my winged mount ;)). But there’s a trade off – having one of these little beasties gets you an unending torrent of /tells (or /whispers or /sends or whatever you call them) – with people desperate to know how you got one…

I’m a bad goblin… I’m not always completely honest when I reply…
My favourite responses so far:
1. I answered the quiz question on WAR europe: “Why did the manticore cross the road?”
2. My wolf ate one too many squigburgers and mutated.
3. By excelling in two areas: Surprise, Cunning and a fanatical dedication to Tzeentch. Oh hang on…

However now and again I tell people it’s from a magical special quest involving swimming in the river in the Necropolis of Zandri or searching the wild wastes of Dangerous Territory (or better yet, both).

Last night we had a raid into a lair, which was delayed and then called off due to some RL issues affecting two of the group – so there was a little bit of downtime that’s not usually there… and I let the joke run on a little longer than I normally do (I’m normally rubbish at pranks).
Putting the 'cor' in Manticore!
Our sorcerer was desperate to get a Manticore… so desperate that he believed every word about the “Harness of Enslaving” locked in a secret casket in the delta of the river Zandri.
After his first five attempts at diving failed, and a few more with the help of a shaman healing/buffing with damage shields he was starting to give up hope.

Till I “remembered” the quest to get the resistance to the water damage… the one that starts in a very rare port from the Winds of Chaos (for those who haven’t seen it it’s well worth a visit. A portal behind the arena ports you to strange and interesting worlds, including a remake of Cotswold village and a 1/10th scale version of the empire starting zone).

This is where I show how rubbish I am at pranks though…. after his many deaths in the water (and finally a zone-port to Dragonwake when he swam to the zone wall) I took pity and decided to throw some hints before he spent hours and hours jumping through the portal in the hope of luckily getting the one with the quest giver….

I said “hmm yeah you need to get the Wind Up Clock from that quest”, to which he asked how many times could it be used…
OK, that one didn’t send any alarm bells.
Me: “If I remember right you have to collect dung from the Bull gors in the Bloodwrought Enclave”…
Still nothing:
Me: “collect the bull dung and get the wind up clock”.
Still nothing… now he may have been distracted or just so focused on getting to the IC….
Me: “yeah, so to get the windup you need to collect the bullshit”

Still nothing other than a repeat of the question about how many times the item could be used…

At this point I decided I’d been mean enough and just came clean πŸ˜‰ but a teensy little evil part of me likes the idea of someone somewhere jumping through the portal in IC repeatedly in an effort to get the bullshit quest to collect a windup…

As I said, I’m a bad goblin. Sorry to my poor victim but I could have just let you keep searching πŸ˜‰

4 Responses to “I’m a bad goblin…”


  1. 1 Roo Stercogburn
    July 23, 2009 at 11:24

    \o/

    πŸ˜€

  2. July 23, 2009 at 15:50

    Aww… youz a mean gobbo. Da poor gitz is gonna go kill ‘imself lookin fer da shinies.

    (Totally random sidenote, on the WHA forums you guys should join the WCPI and become WAR Lords.

    After all, you get a cool green name like mine. πŸ˜‰

  3. July 23, 2009 at 19:20

    Ahh but then I’d lose my Bugman’s Best title πŸ˜‰

  4. July 23, 2009 at 20:02

    Lies? I’ll burn them away!!!


Leave a Reply

