16
Apr
09

An Intake of Breath…

Tomorrow in Europe we get Patch 1.21, http://war-europe.com/#/news/?id_news=en432&lang=en

Huzzah!

Details at:

http://herald.warhammeronline.com/patchnotes/index.php?id=2009_1-2-1

This is crunch time for a lot of players. It will be interesting to see how people respond after its been tested live on the European servers. It should be an interesting weekend as people test this out. There are 18 days remaining on my account. I look forward to finding out if its worth re-subbing.

For me as a Magus player, of most direct interest in the patch are:

* Daemonic Infestation: This ability is now based on player Rank, and damage is based on Daemonology level.
* Horrifying Visions: This ability is now correctly categorized as a debuff instead of a damaging ability.
* Increased base hit points on all Daemons.
* Tzeentch’s Firestorm: This ability will no longer stack multiple times on an enemy. Instead, multiple Firestorms in the same area will begin to affect more people.
I tend to treat the pet as annoyance factor and only actually useful when I can blow it up to stun people so I’m not convinced having it live longer will be any great cheese. It can’t move, needs line of sight to hit targets and does low damage. Rumours of critting for high damage based on weapon skill are circulating but lets see if its anything to get excited about. White Lion pets are the winners this patch methinks based on the general pet notes.
I don’t use Firestorm but I understand the need to stop AoE stacking – Dissolving Mist has always been like that so doesn’t affect me directly.
Damage from Daemonic Infestation? Again, not sure as I don’t rely on this for DPS, only for the stun. All DPS is good DPS so I guess for many Magi the damage output from this is effectively being reduced. Maybe. I’ll have to try it out.
There are some indirect nerfs, specifically Warrior Priests will now be able to dispell our DoTs. While they will generally prefer to heal so it may not affect us too much. I’ll have to test this out somewhat. Going by the notes alone I won’t be going near a Warrior Priest 1v1 under any circumstances.
Also, there are mentions of crits from Willpower which has hitherto been another crazy stat on Magus gear. I’ve yet to confirm this myself.
All in all, for the Magus career directly a fairly depressing patch. Because of the rumours of hidden buffs this may balance out so its not all doom and gloom. Even the ‘Doom’ bits aren’t really doom, just mildly depressing. Bear in mind I’m deliberately posting this *before* having played after the patch for a fair comparison between anticipation (and a little theorycrafting) and gameplay.
For the game as a whole, on paper it looks like a good patch and hopefully the crazy lag has been dealt with. Some of the RvR changes look interesting and will hopefully draw more players back to T4 RvR. The fixes to the guild interface are very welcome and the improvements sound quite funky. I approve of the zone control rewards – anything that rewards people playing as a team over people that play selfishly scores very highly in my book.
On a more general note, I’ve noticed that a lot of Order guilds are now training up their PBAOE bomb groups to replace the ranged DPS they will be missing now that the AoE won’t stack. The burst DPS from BW PBAOE combined with Slayers is quite devastating, I’ve been finding I’m dead before I can respond. 100% -> 0 health in less than 3 seconds. I don’t know if this will be affected in the patch but given the number of Order teams I’ve seen switching to this style of play I would hazard a guess that the latest optimal loophole in the game balance has been found and is ready to be exploited until the next ride on the nerf-boost rollercoaster.
This is very reminiscent of DAoC and when I was watching Order teams at play recently I had a very strong sense of Deja Vu.
Lets see what tomorrow brings 🙂
4 Responses to “An Intake of Breath…”


  1. April 16, 2009 at 22:10

    Buy your renown merchant gear now!

    EVERYTHING gets converted over to medallions with the patch!

  2. April 17, 2009 at 08:07

    The WP change means they won’t be dispelling a choppa/sorcerer/something every time they sneeze now – and they had the means to dispell hexes 1v1 anyway. WPs have never been something you want to fight 1v1 on any class imo 😉

    It does mean they’re now dispelling from a bigger range of spells – but it’s only once every 5s instead of every 2.5s on their group + every 1.5s on someone they’re focus healing. Oh and they don’t get to aoe dispell Curses now either…

    Better for sorcs, not so good for a Magus. Overall better for destruction in theory though.

    The crits from willpower isn’t in the full patch – that was just something they were testing afaik. And the pet change is just what they did to the turrets a while back – making the pet level based off your level and the pet damage based off the spec line, rather than both pet level and damage based off the spec line. As a non-daemonology Magus it means you have more hp on your Infestations.

    More hp on my Gas Squig will be very welcome 🙂 it’s annoying losing half my armour because squiggy went near a RoFl.

  3. 3 Roo Stercogburn
    April 17, 2009 at 11:48

    They are already crying on the Magus forums. The only problem with that is that they are always crying so its impossible to say if its justified.

    It would be hard to complain about apparently playing the class that attracts the whiniest players in the MMO universe without the sledgehammer of irony falling out of the sky and smacking me on the head.

  4. April 17, 2009 at 12:15

    Well take part in my 1st Scenario and we got beaten 500 to 120. Only saw one medallion in that time which I didn’t win in the roll. So it’s going to be a long old haul if this indication is anything. Just need to see if it’s any better in ORvR, which if it is, will be a very good thing indeed.


Leave a Reply

