09
Feb
09

nailed to the cross

-server scenario.. erm… think I overdid the ‘find a dramatic title’ bit there. Sorry!

So, arbitrary at Book of Grudges has written about how she feels about cross-server queues and I’d have to say that a year ago I’d have agreed completely.
We needed more cross puns, obviously
Back in beta/early release the idea of cross-server scenarios pitting you against other servers’ players seemed a horrible idea. There’s the disconnect from the realm war (what do you mean we’re losing because Karag Example server sucks) and the loss of the feeling of community (hey there’s Joe who was in that PQ earlier). There’s also the whole question of cross-realming – Karag Example’s ‘opted group’ in this scenario is actually alts of people on my server playing to lose…

However in November/December I had the unfortunate experience of playing on an underpopulated server – we weren’t the worst off but Karag Orrud was pretty quiet. Tier 4 had scenarios (well, it had Serpent’s Passage), it even had some open RvR. Tier 3 had the occasional Tor Anroc. Tiers 1-2 were a graveyard. You could play all day without a single scenario pop, more often than not.

Thankfully we had server transfers opened up to Karak Hirn so it’s a happy ending πŸ˜‰ but it’s not an experience I’d like to repeat. The scenarios in Tier 1 and 2 are by far my favourite and not being able to break up the questing with scenarios (getting a PQ group was even less likely) made it a lot less fun to play an alt…

I’d like to hope that the population of WAR will grow and grow, with enough new players/alts being rolled to keep Tier 1 and 2 populated but I do worry that like with the first few chapters PQs the first two tiers might become too quiet on a single server for anyone to get a scenario pop. If a server’s total population drops down then the solutions are transfers/merges/etc. but if you’ve got a healthy server that’s just top-heavy with everyone in tier 4 that’s not an option (you’d get an overpopulated tier 4 server, and not solve the t1-3 problem).

Obviously this is all conjecture πŸ˜‰ we may get a Thidranki-culture ala DAoC where people forever reroll to level 11/21 to play in their t1/t2 scenarios or the new players starting/people rolling alts may keep a good percentage of the players in the lower tiers, but if that doesn’t happen cross-server scenarios is probably the only fix.

2 Responses to “nailed to the cross”


  1. February 9, 2009 at 10:44

    Ha ha, I already do have an alt in Tier 1 and Tier 2, just hanging out so I can do those scenarios whenever. Ok, so I have to limit myself to peak time, but I really do think I’d miss the community spirit more than I’d gain from cross-servering.

    I’d almost rather have to transfer servers!

    ps. love the title.

  2. February 9, 2009 at 11:43

    Yeah I don’t see this being necessary any time soon, I’m thinking if it goes the way of DAoC after a few years where 1-50 was pretty much a solo experience and people just powered/got powerlevelled to 50.

    If the population goes top-heavy on all the servers then cross-server lowbie scenarios is the only way I see to solve that.

    (transfers wouldn’t help as newbies would be thin on the ground on all servers)

    I hope I’m proven wrong though πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

