02
Feb
09

Bring out the gimp

I have issues…

I can’t roll a flavour of the month character – I can’t even roll a not quite flavour-of-the-month character that’s somewhat competent. I need to find that class/spec/race/armour combo that either no-one else has tried or that everyone is actively avoiding and then play it. In Dark Age of Camelot I had a smite cleric, a pure enhance melee cleric and a crossbow-spec armsman. Even my necromancer ended up speccing Painworking…

Back to WAR I have my squig herder, Gruntled – most sensible people would take a Ranged DPS class and, you know, stay at range and DPS.

I do my best to try and tank πŸ˜‰

Now I’m not the only stabbin’ spec Squig Armour build squig herder out there but we’re definitely a minority.

My goblin shaman is (naturally) levelling up with the DPS spec – still find myself healing an awful lot, but that’s just to build up Waaagh! ok? I don’t heal – and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. They’re lying.

I’ve had a bit of a quandary with my Zealot – I was wanting to make my zealot a smiter – akin to Glamis of DAoC days – but there’s no damage spec line for Zealots, every single line is a healing specline (and technically a dps spec line) – I think my only option here is to stack lots and lots of Intelligence to the expense of everything else.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I don’t aim to make a broken character. It would be pretty easy to just not spec or not wear any armour (beyond the usual tier 1 scenarios which everyone does for the titles ;)) but my little gimps have to function – they have to be fun to play, just not play any way that anyone would expect. I’ll pick the crazy path and then make sure I go all the way down it (my ‘melee’ cleric had a completely tooled out spellcrafted suit complete with artifacts – all focused on doing melee damage…)

Anyone else have a similar affliction? Or is anyone out there on the flipside – unable to spec something other than what is generally deemed ‘the best’?
(I’m talking compulsion here, not just a desire to win πŸ˜‰ if ‘the best’ is decided after a patch to be a new spec – do you find yourself unable to play unless you’ve respecced to it?)

4 Responses to “Bring out the gimp”


  1. February 2, 2009 at 18:43

    I definitely avoid speccing into something that’s more popular too. In fact, I’ve never even rolled an ironbreaker.

  2. 2 Bleri
    February 3, 2009 at 07:26

    My spec evolves as I level my character and by the time It reaches the max level will be set in stone. After that no matter how many nerfs or updates to the various lines it’s style will be set, there might be a bit of respeccing within that line sometimes but thats it.

    You wont ever get me respeccing my Thrust Polearmsman to Slash or my Frost Mage to Fire, no matter how often people tell me how much better he would be if respecced, better for who? Anyway spec power goes through stages, I can remember one day having to prove my spec in order to claim a shiny new Thrust Polearm as it was a derided spec and the next having to roll with the fotm characters.

  3. February 3, 2009 at 12:47

    No reasons for respecc my chars πŸ™‚ thxs

  4. 4 Raizen
    February 3, 2009 at 14:49

    Don’t forget your shield spec merc in DAoC Flim πŸ˜‰

    As a magus right now, i don’t even have to try and pick a gimped spec; they’re all gimped


Leave a Reply

