16
Jan
09

WAR in the top 5 PC games for 2008!

Judging by the US salesfigures that IGN quotes here Warhammer Online did really well in terms of boxsales!

  1. World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Expansion Pack
  2. Spore
  3. World of Warcraft: Battle Chest
  4. Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures
  5. Warhammer Online: Age Of Reckoning
  6. Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
  7. The Sims 2 Double Deluxe
  8. World Of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Exp Pk Collector’s Ed
  9. Fallout 3
  10. World Of Warcraft: Burning Crusade Expansion Pack

5th in such a strong field isn’t bad at all. I’m most surprised by the fact that Conan is above it as that game seems to be scraping the bottom at the moment. I guess that means that not a lot of people stuck around to play it after the free month, something that WAR seems to have a little problem with as well.

The other thing that surprises me is that Spore is the only non MMO beating WAR, and that a couple of really big other non MMO’s are beaten as well. I always figured that MMO’s earned their money in the long run from subscriptions but would have much lower box sales off the bat.

I guess the reason WAR beat massive games like CoD4 is that these charts are only for PC games. CoD4 was released on pretty much every Console of the current generation, and some of the last generation. Spore on the other hand is a pure PC game. So even if someone had an Xbox/Playstation they would still need to get it on the PC. Jeez just imagine how many boxes that game would have sold without the silly DRM driving so many people to piracy! But that’s a topic for another day… and another blog!

At the end of the day it doesn’t really matter as long as there are enough allies and enemies on our servers to play with. On Azgal and Hirn there are plenty which is great!

The other obvious thing to read from this chart is that WoW is still massive but that is hardly news now is it?

Oh and if anyone finds any European salesfigures please mail them to me or leave a comment. Thanks!

8 Responses to “WAR in the top 5 PC games for 2008!”


  1. January 20, 2009 at 20:40

    This is for retails numbers if I read that link correct with the part mentioning “It is important to note that NPD data is merely reflecting of various US retail outlet sales. The list does not encompass a variety of digital distribution figures.” Call of Duty 4 probably sold quite a bit more via steam. I know that’s how I picked up my copy.

    Age of Conan I hear is getting a lot better, and alot of old guildmates of mine want me to try it out again. Though I think it was a too little too late. It’ll be like an Anarchy Online thing again. Kind of sad for a game that had great potential. Warhammer has been pretty fun, and I’m still playing it. I’ve on my 3rd alt already, and it does have some pretty good replay value. I’m not the only one rerolling alts in the lower tiers too. With Slayers coming out I’m sure they’ll be bringing in quite a few people.

  2. April 12, 2013 at 08:13

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they just
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the
    top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect ,
    people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  3. September 10, 2014 at 19:20

    I want to switch to a clean new WordPress theme for a site, but Google has indexed 2500 pages from the old site (mainly due to a calendar module creating a new page for each day). How do I ensure all those pages remain accessible for Google, without throwing up a “Page Not Found” when someone tries to access it after installing the new WordPress theme. The current site is content managed and is running pHp..

  4. 4 ig
    September 21, 2014 at 00:07

    I just tried to watch a National Geographic video on YouTube to find a message saying that the copyright holder had blocked me from viewing it because I’m not in the USA.. . Similar to HULU, and Comedy Central.. . Why?.

  5. September 21, 2014 at 21:15

    I post them, they get 1 or 2 views, and then no more. I would like my content to do more than just give me a few views…how do I get them on the search engines or something like that? Will no one ever go to my blog just because I don’t post every day?.

  6. September 30, 2014 at 16:34

    I am trying to find a good blogging site where I can actually get viewers or readers to view my blog. I have tried blogspot and live journal with no real success. Does anyone know of any good sites where I can actually blog and get readers?. . Another thing is any tips to get readers to your blogs? Should you follow a theme or how do you need to advertise or if you keep posting will they come to you?. . Please no spam. Thanks.

  7. October 13, 2014 at 15:46

    What would you like to see out of a creative writing short story?


Leave a Reply

